Writer’s Corner: Night Notes – I Am


There’s a darkness inside of me. It swarms around and slowly consumes me.

On the outside everything is bright and shiny. You would never know how dark it is inside of me.

I do my best to cover it up but it’s starting to get harder. The darkness doesn’t want to give up its hold on me.

I belong to it. I am it’s pet. It’s submissive.

I crave clarity. I crave clear skies and the brightness of the sun, but no matter what I do it won’t disappear, it only grows.

Some days its hold over me is so great that I’m no longer me. I hide in shadows emulating the feelings from deep down within.

All I want do do is bask in the glory of the light. But it won’t let me.

I want it to stop.

I want it to.

I want it.

I need it.

I’m scared without it. I don’t want it to leave. It’s my comfort blanket. It’s a part of me.

I’ve become so used to it that I can’t see a life without it. If it ever left me I would be lost.

I’ve become the darkness.

Leave a Reply

