Writers Corning: Morning Pages 6

The sharp smell of burning bit at my nose. I tried to find a way to escape. But there was so much smoke. My heart hammered in my chest. Tears prickling at my eyes.

I didn’t want to die.

I stumbled around. Trying as hard as I could to find an escape route but the heat of the fire was so intense.

As if by magic I managed to get myself to the nearest window. Pulling it open I gulped in the air. My throat was raw from inhaling in so much of the smoke.

I looked down. I was only two stories up but it felt like I was on top of a skyscraper.

I had two options either burn to death or die trying to escape. I knew which option I preferred.

Saying a short prayer, I hauled myself out of the window.

I landed on the ground.

I had broken something. But at least I was alive. The sound of wood bursting woke me out of my daze and I tried to get up.

The left side of my body was numb. But not so numb that I couldn’t feel it.

Wincing in pain I got up to my feet. My legs were fine. But my arm was screeching at me.

Suddenly the area was surrounded by flashing lights and sirens. I was bundled into the back of an ambulance.

As I lay back I drifted to sleep.

Leave a Reply

