Writers Corner: Morning Pages 4

Pain seared through my body as I lay there. My head felt like a thousand stars were exploding inside of me.

I tried to get up, but the pain was so intense. I thought that it would never end.

I tried to open my mouth. To cry out for help. But no sound would come.

My throat was ripped raw.

I thought of all the people that I loved and how I would never see them again. Where tears should have come my eyes just burned.

I closed my eyes embracing the darkness. Allowing my hearing to heighten and listened to the sound of the leaves dancing in the wind.

I would die here. There was no doubt about it.

I allowed my brain to drift off and create stories. Stories where I had lived the life that I had wanted.

I had travelled and visited every corner off the earth. Visited hot then cold places. Swam in seas and climbed high mountains.

I married the love of my life, we grew old together and experienced sunrises and sunsets.

The happiness swept through me replacing the pain. And I was ready to let go. I took one last breath and allowed myself to slip into the darkness.

It was 5 whole days and 6 nights before they found my body.

My killer was never found.

Leave a Reply

