Words of wisdom!

This morning as I booted up my… well turned on my phone, my laptop is still out of action *pours some liquor on the carpet*; I decided to start to look for jobs in television again. 

As I scrolled through hundreds of jobs that I had no interest what so ever in or even had one iota of experience in, my heart died a hundred deaths. Visions of me sat forever cooped up in front of a computer and speaking on the phone to people I didn’t want to talk to (basically the job I’m doing now) plagued me. That disheartening feeling you get when you think, Shit I’m never  gonna leave cast a bleak shadow over me. The feeling of doubt and the ‘I’m never going to fulfill my dreams’ funk hit me like a ton of bricks.

It was then my good friend Google whispered in my ears seductivly, teasing me to type the words writersroom into its engine of search. That’s when the greatest words I have ever seen came to me. It was from Henry Swindell of the Writersroom he told a tale of a TV writer frustrated with not getting a breakthrough and wanting to become a runner just so that he could make it into television. Swindell proceeded to ask this writer if they wished to be a runner or a writer to which that writer said a writer. So Swindell told him that he needed to write more. That in order to be a writer you need to write. 

What an absolute guru. Words so simple yet so important.

Why should I waste time applying for jobs that I have no interest or desire in just so I can get my foot back into television, when at the end of the day all I want to do is be a writer.

What I need to do more of is write! And trust me write I will!

Leave a Reply

